SeamlessRDP

I read about this guy running Visual Studio on his MacBook

Huh?

He was using rdesktop and seamlessrpd.

SeamlessRDP allows an individual application on Windows XP to be run in an X11 window via rdesktop.

I run Windows XP in Parallels VM on my MacBook.

The seamlessrpd code goes on the windows machine.
unzip seamlessrdp.zip into c:\seamlessrdp

Rdesktop goes on the mac. The instructions specify rdesktop 1.5 which isn’t out so I built rdesktop from CVS.

cvs co rdesktop
cd rdesktop
./bootstrap
./configure --prefix=/usr/local
make
sudo make install

Make sure you’re logged out of XP

On the mac open X11
rdesktop -S \
"c:\seamlessrdp\seamlessrpdshell.exe notepad" 192.168.0.17

Notepad opens on my OS X desktop. Woot.

I’m not sure how to exit cleanly. File -> Exit kills notepad but doesn’t terminate rdesktop.

If I rdesktop again or log into windows I get a blank desktop because Explorer is not running. CTRL+ALT+DEL to bring up Task Manager, then run explorer or logout.

I found a link to rdesktop-1.5.0-rc1 but that exhibited the same behavior. I wonder if it works any better on Linux?

I think SeamlessRDP has potential, but I need to try it with something more substantial than notepad.

Posted in mac, remote, windows
3 comments on “SeamlessRDP
  1. Tony says:

    I have the same problem, I always logout from seamlessrdp using control-alt-del, and select for “log out”.

  2. LuNa says:

    i have other problems … if i rdesktop i can see windows desktop only … it seems to be rdesktop won’t launch seamlessdesktop on windows side … or .. if i try to execute seamlessdesktop from windows .. the apps is not “seamless” but it remains on windows desktop .. in a window … ideas ?

  3. ENavarro says:

    I found a link: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-572900-highlight-xfwm4.html?sid=19db685f1199d5d62855bd9b38f2d978

    IT basically states to put the seamlessrdp command on the startup of the users start menu and just login.

    It worked for me. Im using Xubuntu 7.10.

Leave a Reply

